Home

On shopping…

September 5, 2010


As a homemaker and mother in the outskirts of Portland, Oregon, I have found that we are contanstly bombarded by images and ideas from the media and commercial sources. Buy this! You need that! You must do this! It is your right to do that! Buy! Buy! Buy!!

Our grandmothers and great-grandmothers might have a laugh if they could see all the things we now deem “necessary” and the amount of money we spend on them. I, for one, am completely guilty of this buying obsession. Instead of looking inward to my own home bursting with stuff, I was constantly looking for the next buying fix.  The first few months of my son’s life I spent going from store to store just “browsing”, which usually meant coming home with something I did not need.

Eventually, my brain emerged from the fog and I started looking for ways to repurpose old materials and items in my house. Part of this came from being fed up with it and part of it (ok, a huge part of it) was the fact that I was spending waaaaay too much money.

I want to share with you my new love of re-purposing and crafting things for my house and family. I am beginning to realize that many of us have lost the ability to do things for ourselves. I definitely scoffed at sewing in high school as my mother attempted to teach me, telling her ” Anything I need I can buy!”. What an arrogant ass I was!! Today, 15 years later, I have taught myself to sew and am figuring out many, many things that our mothers could do that we never bothered to learn.

I hope you enjoy this journey with me, I know I enjoy sharing this with you.

Leave a Reply

