Home

Book Blessings…

December 30, 2010


Even though my little guy is over a year old, I still consider myself a new mother who really doesn’t know what on earth she is doing. Early in my post postpartum days ( about seven weeks, really) I hunted down a Book Babies group at my local Library. This group met twice a week for an hour or so and sang songs, read books and gave the babies a chance to socialize, but most importantly gave the new moms a chance to meet.

This group was my savings grace as a new mommy. There are many moms out there who claim that birthing their babies was the most miraculous moment of their lives, who felt complete with babe in arms and loved every second of it all. I was not one of those parents. I adore my son, but the first months following birth were filled with much anxiety, fear, depression and overwhelming feelings that I just could not control. This group of moms with babies of the same age gave me a chance to be with others that understood, that got it, that either were going through it all or had just come out of it. They understood the soreness, the leaking, the fear of doing something wrong and the incredible lack of self esteem that motherhood can bring.

I have been going to these groups for over a year now, and in that time have watched my son and his pals grow from wriggling newborns into active toddlers. As they grow and change, one thing stays the same: the moms. We share much more than diapering advice, feeding tips and discipline help when we chat at these groups, we share a bit of ourselves. We share woes, tears, pregnancies, fears, frustrations and family issues. We tell each other about our monetary issues, nursing problems, and health problems.

People always say that you should keep your old friends and make some new. I am happy to know that while many of these moms are people I see once a week or so, I feel blessed to know that I could call upon many of them for advice or help if we needed it. As my son grows and becomes more of a little individual, I am excited to see where these friendships might go. It feels like even though we are home alone with our children, we really are not alone. There is always someone to share your woes with.

Leave a Reply

