Home

Blueberry Bread

January 4, 2011


I have a feverish little boy. That being said it means I also have a little boy who refuses to eat pretty much anything unless he is being held by Mommy, a little boy who is whining and crying pretty much non stop and a little boy who really, really likes blueberries.

In an effort to have something on hand that is homemade, fast, easy to eat and easy to give the munchkin, I made up a loaf of one of my favorite recipes: Blueberry Bread. Golden brown and crusty on top, soft and moist and blueberriey (not really sure this is a word but I really want it to be one!) inside, this is one that never disappoints.

I love this bread for breakfast with a bit of apple butter, for snacks just sliced off the loaf, dried into crumbs as ice cream toppings and fried up golden brown as french toast. My little one just loves it, cramming fistfuls of bread into his mouth and then giving me a bluish smile as he chews this goodness.

The recipe I use is based from Cook’s Illustrated Best Recipe Cookbook from 2006. My best friend gave me this cookbook for Christmas right before I got married and if you’re not a nut for cookbooks like I am (hey, we love to cook and I read cookbooks like novels!) then this is the ONE cookbook you cannot live without. It has pretty much all the best recipes that they have worked on over the years, they tell you why, how and what to do when it doesn’t turn out right. SO many cookbooks tell you ingredients and instructions but they don’t tell you why you are using this or that or what causes the problems you get. I love this cookbook.

So here it is! It can be made as muffins, but I love it better as a bread.

My beloved Blueberry Bread as taken from Cooks Illustrated Best Recipes Cookbook.

 

Blueberry Bread

2 cups unbleached all purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 large egg

1 cup sugar

4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1 1/4 cups yogurt

1 1/2 cups frozen or fresh blueberries

 

Adjust an oven rack to the middle position and preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease your or loaf pan and set aside.

Whisk flour, baking powder and salt together in a medium bowl. Set aside. In another bowl whisk the egg until blended, add sugar and mix until thick and homogenous, about 30 seconds. Add butter in two additions, mix well. Add the yogurt and mix until blended. 

Add blueberries to dry ingredients and toss to coat with flour.

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix just until combined. DO NOT OVERMIX!! (This will make your bread tough!) Batter will be thick and a bit of flour will not be mixed in.

Pour into prepared pan and bake at 350 for about 50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the loaf comes out clean.

Cool on a rack and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

