Home

Spinach Pie

January 5, 2011


One of my family’s favorite restaurant here in Portland is Nicholas’ a Lebannese restaurant know for its amazing cuisine, abundant portions and rock bottom prices. Last summer, Nicholas’ open a satellite location out here in East County in downtown Gresham and I have never been happier! Now instead of driving into the city to get one of my beloved dishes I can just drive five minutes or stop by for lunch after our library play group.

One of my favorite dishes of both my husband and I is their Spinach Pie. A sautee of fresh spinach, onions, garlic, olive oil and feta cheese stuffed inside of a pita dough and baked till a wonderful golden brown. It is very similar to spanikopita just with a different crust and less greasy. We introduced this dish to our little guy last fall and found out this child can eat his weight in Spinach Pie! Nothing made this Momma happier than seeing her little boy noshing away happily on spinach.

Today I had an abundance of spinach and *happened* to have a pita dough rising in the fridge. So, for dinner I threw together my take on Nicholas’ Spinach Pie. According to my husband, this is the best thing ever. Sigh, he is so good to me!

Spinach Pie

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 yellow onion, diced

3 cloves garlic, minced

6 oz feta cheese, crumbled

2 eggs

salt and pepper to taste

1 batch pita bread dough ( I did not use whole wheat flour in mine because I wanted it to be more elastic)

Sautee onions and garlic in olive oil until soft and fragrant. 

Add in spinach in batches. As one batch wilts, set aside and add more spinach to the pan and wilt again.

After all the spinach is wilted I would put all of it in a tea towel and strain it as hard as possible. I did not do this and wished I had. Spinach is very watery when cooked and this water makes the inside of your Pie a bit soggier than I would have preferred. Add feta cheese and season to taste now, and then add two eggs. Toss to combine and refrigerate until ready to stuff.

I made my pita dough the night before and let it proof over night in the refrigerator. In the morning I took it out and let it come to room temperature. This is where this recipe picks up:

Place your dough ball on a floured surface and with your fingers push down and flatten. You will need some flour for this since it is sticky. Flatten until you get the dough to about half an inch thick. If your dough starts to pull back on itself, it needs to rest. Place a wet tea towel over it and give it about ten minutes.

Preheat your oven to 450. Once rested, place the spinach mix in the center of the dough. Turn in the corners and pull up the sides until the whole thing resembles a rough loaf. Egg wash the top of the Pie and bake for 45 minutes until golden and a thermometer poked inside reads 200 degrees.

YUM!

Leave a Reply

