Home

A much needed knead

January 10, 2011


Sometimes when life really gets to me and there is too much going on I find the best thing to restore my calm and bring me back to normal is kneading dough. Whether it is pie, bread, cookie, tart, pita, brioche or any other type of dough just the action of kneading the dough brings my attention to what I am doing and the silliness of the situation, whatever the situation may be.

When I was at Culinary School at the Cooking and Hospitality Institute of Chicago I took a bread making class that not only taught me a new skill but taught me a life long lesson: when life is hellish and bringing you to your knees you can always find comfort in dough. There is a steadfastness in flour, water and yeast making something so solid yet pliable, something so fragrant and yet bland. For me standing at my bread board with floured hands and my fingers gently smooshing into the mass makes me leave my worries behind and for the fifteen minutes of kneading nothing else matters.

Yes, I love my KitchenAid and it is a lovely and very practical thing. We use our KitchenAid very, very often in our home but there are days when all I want to do is knead. I guess I occasionally have a need to knead.  Ha!

Leave a Reply

