Home

If at first you don’t succeed…

January 20, 2011


Many of you already know that I have decided to learn to knit this year.  Always a lover of handmade items, I have been sewing and crafting for many years but have never ventured into the realm of crochet and knitting. It is amazing what can be made from just sticks and string and patience, lots and lots of  patience.

Now, many of you also know that I am not the most patient person – in fact many of my project have ended up haphazardly finished just because I had had it. I wanted to finished come hell or highwater and frankly, I didn’t give a damn.

Well, now I have a child and a new hobby and frankly my perspective has changed. I cannot learn to do things haphazardly and half assed when I have a little boy to raise. What kind of parent would I be if my son learned that it is fine to do things half way? No, it won’t do.

So I find myself with a new hobby and a new drive to perfection: and my husband has asked for a scarf with pure wool he picked out. And its thin. And a scarf is very, very long. And I’ve had to unravel three times already. Yes, this is going to be a long, long project – but I am optimistic that by the end of this scarf I will be very comfortable knitting and purling. Oh yes, very, very comfortable.

Leave a Reply

