Home

Holy Pancake Batman!

January 23, 2011


Sunday mornings are rather special to me.  You wake up and usually there is a day just for family, cooking, baking and hanging around. Most Sundays at our house are lazy to start, with lots of playtime, books read, football to watch and something wonderful for breakfast. This is usually where I come in ~ I love breakfast. Something crunchy, creamy, warm and hopefully quick to throw together that everyone loves.

This morning I woke up with a hankering for a Baked Pancake. If you are anything like me, you are probably wondering what on earth is a Baked Pancake! I mean, how can you bake a Pancake? I know, this is also what I thought until I went to an old coworkers house for brunch one weekend and he served me this amazing, crunchy, butter flying saucer that looked and tasted like heaven. I was smitten and asked for the recipe immediately!

So here you go, one of my favorites that is so fast to throw together and will impress anyone when set on the table.

Baked Pancake

serves 2

1/2 stick of butter (I use 1/4)

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1/2 cup milk

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

pinch of freshly grated nutmeg

Place butter in a pie dish and place in cold oven. Turn oven on to preheat at 400 with pie dish inside.

In a medium bowl, whisk milk and flour together until lump free. Add eggs, vanilla and nutmeg and mix. When oven is ready, pull out rack with pie pan on it and using a rubber spatula pour batter right into hot pie pan. Put back in oven and bake for 20 minutes.

Serve with powdered sugar, maple syrup or (my favorite!) fresh fruit and unsweetened whipped cream.

YUM!

Leave a Reply

