Home

Salty

February 8, 2011


In an effort to shed a few pounds, my family is trying to eat light. That being said, eating light has never been my forte. I am a cook, I love, live and breathe food. I spend most of my days dreaming up fantastic meals and try to use the most exotic and interesting ingredients I can find. A trip to the grocery store is not just about getting what is on my list, I window shop grocery stores. I spend time examining each pepper, each tomato, and if I happen to see an item I have not used before I get it just to see what it can do.

Yes, dieting has never been my strong point. If I must diet, and I must, really, then it must be tasty. It has to have complex flavors and be fun to prepare.

That is why tonight I put together a dish I have never made before: Thai Snapper in a Salt Crust.  And, it was amazing.

I started out by laying the cleaned and scaled fish on a bed of cilantro and lemon slices. Then I stuffed the cavity with more lemon slices.

Using four room temperature egg whites, I beat them till stiff peak and added a cup of kosher salt.

 

 

We folded in the salt with a rubber spatula. Then I placed the egg white mixture over the top of the fish. If I were to do this over again I would have placed some under the fish too to completely seal it in.

Once covered it is kinda fun to decorate the top with a skewer and draw the fish – the eye, scales and fins.

At this point we baked it, 350 degrees for 45 minutes. And once it was done:

Such a juicy and lemony fish, tender and flaky and just fabulous.

Now this kind of diet food I can handle!

2 Responses to “Salty”

  1. ajanddana Says:

    yum!


Leave a Reply

