Home

Coffee Cookies

February 23, 2011


It has recently dawned on me that we all have a sacred place, a serene and calming locale where we go to feel reacquainted with ourselves. For me, this place is my kitchen. It is the place we enter into our home,  the first glimpse of warmth and homecoming, filled with comfort and usually something proofing, baking or simmering away. In my kitchen I feel safe, and when I am in need of nourishment (whether emotionally or physically) it is here that I seek my comforts.

Yesterday afternoon I found myself in one of these wandering moments, in need of something to bake but not needing to finish any necessary items at the time. I had found this recipe in a vintage cookbook I checked out from the library many years ago, wrote it on an index card and stashed away for a future bake-off.  I wish I could tell you where it came from, but I have lost that information many years ago.

I pulled this out and felt myself day dreaming away as I mixed ingredients. I wondered who made this recipe, where it came from, why they added the ingredients they did. I dreamed the recipe away, mixing coffee and sugars wondering how this little simple list of ingredients would turn out to be.

I have to say they were wonderful. I hope you enjoy this one as much as our family has – even the little guy has loved gnawing on them as he toddles around the house.

Coffee Crisps

1/2 cup butter, melted

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup molasses

1/2 cup hot coffee

1 tsp baking soda

2 3/4 cups flour

Dissolve baking soda in hot coffee. Mix molasses, sugar, butter and coffee together until blended. Gradually add flour until a dough forms. Roll thin and cut out with a juice glass or biscuit cutter. Bake at 375 for 14 minutes. Cool on a  wire rack.

Leave a Reply

