Home

Heavenly Cookie

March 21, 2011


I might have found the perfect cookie. While I am well aware that this is a lofty statement, I promise you that I this is no lie. It is an addictive combination of peanut butter, oatmeal and chocolate – and I can’t seem to stop eating them.

The craving for peanut butter cookies hit early last week and after four days of contemplating the “need” of peanut butter cookies the craving won out.

This is an amazing cookie with rich salty peanut butter, grainy oats and smooth mini chocolate chips. The original cookie recipe called for walnuts and dried cranberries (which I am sure would be fantastic!) but for my family we prefer no nuts in our cookies.

My only regret is that I just ate my last one. Hrmm, another batch might be in order on Sunday!!

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies

(adapted from Better Homes & Gardens 75th Anniversary Edition)
(Makes 4 dozen)
3/4 cup Butter, at room temperature
2/3 cup Peanut Butter (I used Natural)
1/2 cup Sugar
1 cup packed Brown Sugar
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
1/2 teaspoon Baking Soda
1 teaspoon Cinnamon
2 Eggs
1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
1 + 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups Rolled Oats
2/3 cup dried Cranberries,* chopped (I omitted these!)
2/3 cup Walnuts,* chopped (I omitted these too!!)
2/4 cup mini chocolate chips
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2. Beat together butter and peanut butter until well combined. Add sugars, baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon. Beat until combined.
3. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Beat in flour. Stir in oats, cranberries and nuts.
4. Drop by rounded teaspoons onto ungreased baking sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes or until light brown around edges.
Leave a Reply

