Home

Backyard Fun

April 23, 2011


Before I was a parent, I used to pooh-pooh Little Tykes’ obnoxiously colored play structures. I used to think that parents who had them were tacky and weird and why on earth would you choose to have some neon colored, hideous thing in your yard if you could have a lovely natural wood one. Or a painted wood one. Or even a plastic one in neutral colors.

Yeah.

This was all before I was a parent. This was all before I was a stay at home mom (lucky me!) whose family is on one income and has to watch the budget very, very carefully. Before baby, there would have been room for a $300-$400 plus play structure with swing set, slide and all sorts of awesomeness. Again, yeah.

When I was pregnant, my next door neighbor offered me a play structure her six year old had outgrown. It was big, plastic and neon. It was obnoxious and ugly. I smiled sweetly and kindly said we would think about it – afterall, I didn’t want MY baby playing on a hand me down play structure, much less a PLASTIC one.

And today, at eighteen months old there is a happy toddler climbing all over the neighbor’s play structure that was relocated into my yard. Today, there is a Momma who has exhausted her hunt on Craigslist for inexpensive play structures and slides, unable to find anything that would fit the budget (minimal!) or space in the Poot Mobile (as our lovely Passat Wagon has recently been nicknamed!). There was a text message to the neighbor’s, a Mom of an older kid happy to get rid of the thing, and a happy Momma of a toddler who is thrilled to not have to shell out ANY cash for a fabulous, neon structure that keeps the kiddo happy while I garden.

Or while I plant.

Or while I sit in the sun and knit to my heart’s content.

Isn’t it funny how parenthood changes the way you see things?

Leave a Reply

