Home

Summer sewing

July 15, 2011


In the spirit of summery goodness, some sewing was needed. I fell in love with this darling pattern one day at the fabric store, and while it was much more difficult than I had ever attempted in my short sewing life it was such lovely pattern that it inspired me. A little something for Momma for a Fourth of July family party was needed, a little something fun and lovely that just made you feel great.

The pattern is Lisette by Simplicity 2245, a new line by the makers of the fabulous ( so fabulous I really, really want to make all of thier patterns!) Oliver +S. I love the style of Oliver+S, it is vintage and sweet while being practical. It is everything I always wish for children’s clothing to be, sweet and practical. I have dreamed of a ladie’s pattern by Oliver+S for a long, long, long time. You can imagine my joy when I found this patterns at Joann’s.

Perseverance is the name of the game when it came to this simple shirt. I am hoping that the next one I make (for there will be many more of these darlings!) will go smoother now that I understand how the pattern worked. Interfacing, yokes, gathering and an insane neckband that brought me to tears and took me two whole nights to figure out.

In the end, I was so happy with the way it turned out. A little summery shirt for a summer Momma. Plus, a little bit of soulful sewing when a soul really needed it most – a reminder that while something may fail, other things are possible to finish and accomplish.

Leave a Reply

