Home

Back into the swing of things

August 31, 2011


Today is THE day.

Today marks the last day of no showers, of having to go to another home for baths and possibly dinner ( a BIG thank you to the willing and happy In-Laws who opened up their bath and kitchen to our little bath-less family!) As of tomorrow morning, the bath caulking should be cured and all ready for its happy users.

Of course, this all means that in the last two weeks I have fallen behind – way behind. Since it is summer, the garden is in full swing with green beans ripening every other day, cucumbers climbing over everything, corn tasseling and tomatoes ripening. Our squash is ever ready to please and the peppers are coming along nicely. Plus friends have dropped by presents of milk, eggs and berries that must be processed and put away for the winter.

 A dear friend gifted us six gallons of milk a week ago and we have been busy making ricotta and mozzarella cheese for use in various pasta dishes. Mozzarella is a recipe both Rudie and I love to make, but ricotta was a new one for us. Little did I know that it is extremely easy!  Bring six cups milk and big pinch of salt to a rolling boil. Add three tablespoons of white wine vinegar, boil till curdled and strain in a cheese cloth lined colander set in a bowl for one hour. I was shocked at how easy and wonderful this was, not to mention how cost effective! The taste is great – fresh and creamy with a true milky, cheesy taste unlike the rubbery stuff that comes in a tub. This ricotta is destined for many batches of ravioli with herbs from the garden.

With all my garden projects and cooking, freezing and canning ( this was the first year I had the satisfaction of actually growing and canning my own cucumbers!) I have managed to get in a bit of knitting. Grandma asked for some little goodies for the holiday decorations for the flower shop. Have I mentioned the flower shop before? I am not sure if this has come up yet, but I will have to make sure to make a full post on this amazingly elegant space. I managed to get one set of mittens done for her order, with a few more sets and other goodies in the works for the holidays still in the works.

Also in the work basket right now is my very first wool diaper cover. I believe these are called longies? Shorties? Panties? Who knows what they are called, all I know is that I am in process for a fresh pair to try it. Does anyone have any experience in wool covers? I would love any advice in knitting and caring for wool.

We have been a busy house these last few weeks – and now we must catch up with our everyday chores! Reminding myself that even though there is much to do, some rest and play is still called for everyday. And attempting to remember to enjoy the process of making and creating, gardening and living as much as the finished  product.

Hope your Wednesday finds you with busy hands and happy hearts!

Leave a Reply

