Home

I dream in Orange Chiffon

April 3, 2012


In these last weeks of pregnancy, as my belly swells bigger than ever imagined and my toddler pushes my patience to limits never before explored, I am finding some comfort in baking. My Mamama used to make this cake once in a while to have with our tea, a beautiful airy cloud like Orange Chiffon that was melt in your mouth good.

In Peru and at her house, we used to always have tea in the afternoons – sometimes just tea or cocoa with cake or a small sandwich, sometimes a slightly bigger meal with a scrambled egg or a bit of leftovers. Our larger meals were at lunch – usually a two or three course meal followed by a nice nap.

Today is a rainy, pouring day and as I cannot take my incredibly cranky toddler outside to play and as I am too big and cumbersome to do much besides sit and knit (more on this later!) I am finding my solace in baking. The beautiful cake is in the oven, and I am awaiting the sound of the oven timer impatiently to share this delight with my little one.

Leave a Reply

